Day Off At The Movies

Movies #44, #45 and #46 of the year, X-Men: First Class, Midnight in Paris and The Tree of Life.

As frequently as I attend the movies, the last time (and only time) I saw three movies in one day was back in 2005. It was two days after Christmas, and Emily and I were bored (we were in Michigan after all.) There was a dollar theater at the mall playing movies that had been released for a while, and so we formed a schedule for the day (with a break to grab some dinner.) We spent about four dollars each and saw Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit, Jarhead and North Country.  At the end of the night our day was declared a success.

Lately I’ve been working 6 days / 80 hours a week and have never been more mentally drained. When my one day off a week comes it’s a chance to unwind and relax, which for me means catch up on movies. (Being in Dallas helps as there’s nothing else to do.) With two limited releases finally getting released in Dallas, and one summer blockbuster I missed over the weekend, I started planning when I could see these three movies (showing at three different theaters, no less.)

Morning began with X-Men: First Class, afternoon was spent with Midnight in Paris, and the evening kicked off with The Tree of Life. All in all it was another success (although it was better when I had a movie-going partner.) I spent $25, went to 3 movie theaters, saw 12 movie trailers, and was entertained with about 363 minutes of movies. Not a bad day off.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

